top of page
  • Writer's pictureJillian Koscielniak

Reflections After a Year of Tiny-er Living


Your home should compliment your life, not distract you from it.

I know when most people talk about tiny living they think an RV or a tiny home.


For us, we are living our version of tiny because of our recent downsize in square footage, stuff and all the things that were distracting us from living our values. I don't consider us tiny living, more like tiny-er living :).


We started in a 3,000 sq. ft. house with all the decorations, furniture and yard space one can imagine. If you want a more detailed version of our previous living situation, check out the longer version here.


After many years experiencing larger living we knew that this was not the lifestyle for us.


So after much reflection, deep conversations, decluttering, selling, and donation of our stuff we decided to downsize.


We left our larger living lifestyle to invest in a tiny-er living lifestyle.


We relocated our lil' tripod family to a different state in order to invest in a single level 1400 sq. ft. house with a 'just right' yard.


The funny thing about tiny-er living is that the only thing tiny about it is the physical house itself. Everything else in our life grew so much larger, such as our time, energy, travel and fun experiences together as a family.


Anyways, enough rambling from me...here are my top 10 reflections after living tiny-er for a year.


10 Reflections After Living Tiny-er for a Year


1. Less time, energy and money spent on cleaning and home maintenance stuff.

2. Less money spent on furniture and decorations, more money for experiences!

3. You get way more creative with less!

4. I feel happier, calmer and more at ease with owning less.

5. I now have space to rediscover who I am, my needs, wants and desires.

6. Less financial burden and pressure to work a job that doesn't feel right.

7. More freedom to experiment with whatever I want to try out.

8. My days feel unrushed and purposefully slower to be more present.

9. Easier to say "no" to bringing more stuff into our home.

10. My life feels more "balanced" with all the things that are meaningful to me.


Were these helpful at all? Let me know in the comments below, or reach out on Instagram where I love connecting to other rad humans!

17 views0 comments
bottom of page