top of page
  • Writer's pictureJillian Koscielniak

A Spontaneous RV Getaway


Don't underestimate the power of a spontaneous adventure.

It was 8:45 p.m. on a Wednesday night that I had the intense urge to curate an adventure that involved removing ourselves from the norm.


This inner adventure prompt was most likely born from the fact that we all "embraced" COVID together as a family for the first time. Travel plans were cancelled, activities crossed off our to-do list, and we stayed hunkered down in our little house for about two weeks.


We all needed a *spark* of something different and exciting in our lives.


I found a unique Airbnb RV space about 50 minutes away from our house that was located on a 132-acre farm with mountain views and no TV. The most jaw-dropping thing about this space was that we could check-in at 8 am! This meant we could have the entire day to nestle, explore and wander the property.


This was my definition of a serendipitous invitation calling us to come join the fun. So, naturally I booked this spontaneous adventure for the next morning (for about $150) without consulting my husband - because I didn't need his permission on this one, haha.


Afterwards I did inform my husband, Nick, that I booked a getaway for the next day and that the Wifi was good so he could work remotely to join the adventure. I think he was pleased :).


Then, I packed our bags before heading to bed feeling like a giddy kid the night before Christmas Day. The anticipation of our adventure was electrifying and is one of my favorite feelings that travel brings to my core.


After a blissful night's rest, we woke up, loaded the car with our bags, cooler of goodies and Nick carried Lucille (still in her pjs) to the car.


On our early morning journey to the Airbnb we stopped at one of our favorite local coffee shops for a morning treat.


The drive there was so peaceful and immediately put my nervous system at ease. We watched the sun rise higher and higher, passed farm land and vineyards on rolling hills, and savored the towering mountains and open space for miles.


I think sometimes we forget the blissful energy that we're able to experience on the journey, the tiny magical moments that occur before "arriving" to the destination.

When we arrived on the property we were in awe at our "new" temporary environment. The RV was a cozy, hygge space with everything we needed (a small kitchen, couch, toilet and beds). The property had farm land for miles with a small playground and organic garden next door.


The simple change of scenery and routines was definitely what we all were craving to spice up the week, more internally than externally.


Sometimes you just need an adventure to cleanse the bitter taste of life from your soul.

It's quite phenomenal the simple joy that travel can bring into your life.

It is the gift that keeps on giving for years and years to come.




8 views0 comments
bottom of page